About us

AThe South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) was established on 8 December 1985. SAARC comprises of eight Member States: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.  SAARC secretariat is set up in Kathmandu.

In line with the objectives enshrined in the SAARC charter, a SAARC student (council) is an umbrella for all the SAARC students in the region.

The objectives of the Association as outlined are:

  • to promote the welfare of the students and to improve their quality of life;
  • to accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region and to provide all individuals the opportunity to live in dignity and to realize their full potentials;
  • to promote and strengthen collective self-reliance among the students of South Asia;
  • to contribute to mutual trust, understanding and appreciation of one another’s problems;
  • to promote active collaboration and mutual assistance in the economic, social, cultural, technical and scientific fields;
  • to strengthen cooperation with students of other developing countries;
  • to strengthen cooperation among themselves in international forums on matters of common interests;
  • and to cooperate with international and regional organizations with similar aims and purposes.
  • SAARC students, through their integration can contribute to building mutual trust and collaboration, understand each other issues and challenges and achieve economic, social, cultural, technical and scientific progress through mutual assistance.

Through periodic interaction and participation in program organized by this grouping will, work together on social, economic, cultural development in the region.

Close Menu